Daily Life Field Note

What is daily life like?

This week I asked many people if I could learn about daily life in Russia by interviewing them! Unfortunately, Russians like and value their privacy so this was a difficult task. This is a very interesting cultural lesson that I learned!

Fortunately, my young professor at my University agreed to be interviewed! He was very shy but I’m so grateful he was brave enough to answer all of my questions. Let’s see what he had to say about his daily life!

—————————————————————————————————————————-

 What is your full name?

My full name is Alexander Nikolaevich Latyshev.

 Where do you live? What is your house like?

I live in the southwest part of St. Petersburg. My home is an apartment within a big apartment building. I live on the twelfth floor. The building has sixteen floors. I have my own apartment, but right now my sister and her husband are living there because they have no place to live at the moment. So, I decided to let them stay in my apartment and I’m temporarily staying with my father, my mother and my cat.

Alexander was a little nervous about his interview

I have my father, mother and younger sister. My sister is younger than me by six years and she got married last year. She is now living with her husband. I also have four cousins. Those cousins are two brothers and two sisters. We are quite close to my two cousins on my mother’s side but my two cousins from my father’s side live  near the Ural Mountains. So they are far, far away from us.

How do you get around?

I have a car. In the morning, I usuall ytake my car to work. Sometimes, when it’s too difficult to travel in  my car because of traffic, I use the subway. Still, I travel by car more than by subway.

What types of clothing do you like to wear?

I prefer casual and comfortable clothing. I like warm clothes because it is important. Russia is very cold!

What do you like to do in your free time?

I like to watch movies or visit with my friends. Sometimes I like to go downtown with them and visit local restaurants. I do not have much free time lately, but I still try to see my friends.

What language(s) do you speak?

I speak English and Russian. I don’t speak any other languages. Part of my family is of German origin, but I do not speak German. I want to learn German but I do not have much time right now. Perhaps I will learn it in the future!

Do you have pets?

But I made him laugh and he was more comfortable

Yes, I have a cat. I call him Kot, which means “cat”  in Russian. Do you think this is an inventive name?

Have you traveled? Where have you traveled to?

Yes, I have traveled in Europe.  Specifically, I have traveled to Finland. Many residents of St. Petersburg go to Finland because of its proximity. Also, I have been to Sweden, Germany, Czech Republic and Greece. Since I turned 18 years old, I have traveled every year.

What do you do for work?

I have three jobs right now. My primary job is as a scientific researcher in the St. Petersburg Museum of Urban Sculpture. My second job is here in the Polytechnical University as a professor. My third job is at the Stieglitz Academy of Fine Arts where I give lectures.

Is there anything else you would like to say to students in the United States?

I want to tell them that you should be studying very well and carefully. If you are a well-educated person you will have a successful future. Always love your family and stick with them. This is very important in life.

My Russian history class with Alexander teaching

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s