Daily Life Field Note

 

Barcelona Beach

My host mom is 40 years old, and her name is Rosa Sanfont Giné.  Sanfont and Giné are both her last names.  In Spain it is common to have two last names, because the first last name is from your father and the second is from your mother.  She was born in Lleida, and this is one of the four provinces in the Spanish nation Catalonia.  Rosa has two brothers, and she grew up speaking both Spanish and Catalan.   When she was younger, Rosa always wanted to learn about other languages and cultures.

After graduating from high school, she decided to move to the city of Barcelona for college.  Rosa enjoyed languages so much, that she decided to become a traductora or someone who helps to translate things from one language to another.  A couple of years later, she decided to travel around Europe working as a translator and practicing her language skills.  She visited cities all over Spain, Portugal, England, France, Germany, Italy, Greece, Russia, Ireland, Scotland and lots of other countries.  Can you find any of these countries on a map?  What are some of the languages they speak in these countries?  During her journey around Europe, Rosa also learned English and some French.

Workstation

After returning to Barcelona, Rosa started to work with a friend who owned an apartment company.  While Rosa liked working with her friend, she was sad that she could not travel anymore.  She then decided to start her own business renting apartments to tourists visiting Barcelona.   This is very common in Barcelona, because renting an apartment for a week can often be cheaper than paying for a hotel.   Rosa really enjoyed this job, because she could still meet people from different countries and practice the languages she had learned.  In fact Rosa liked her new job so much, she added ten more apartments to her business.

Rosa wakes up at about 6:00 AM, and she goes to bed at midnight.  Do you wake up at the same time to get ready for school?  Every day she has to organize airport pickups, take tourists to their apartments, give them keys, take them on small tours around the city, clean the apartments for the next visits and more.  Most of the apartments are close to the city center, so Rosa is always walking or riding her bike to places.  If she needs to go somewhere that is slightly farther, she takes the Metro or a taxi.  There are lots of taxis all around Barcelona.  Are there lots of taxis around your city?  Rosa is always working, so she enjoys wearing comfortable clothes like sweatpants, sweatshirts, light jackets, gym shoes and jeans. 

When she does have some free time, Rosa enjoys running, going to the movies and relaxing in her apartment.  She also enjoys riding her bike to the beach with her six-year-old daughter Gala.  In the future, Rosa wants to visit the United States.  She would love to see the Statue of Liberty and Radio City Music Hall in New York, the Sears Tower in Chicago and Disney World in Florida.  Can you find some of these major US cities on the map?  Are they close to New York?  Rosa wanted to let you guys know that Spain is also a great place to visit, and she is excited to know that you want to learn more about her country.  Are there any other questions or things you would like to know about Rosa?  Does her day sound similar to what we may experience in the United States?

Adéu is the typical way to say goodbye in Catalonia.  Adéu, and I can’t wait to see what our next adventure will be!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s