Daily Life Field Note

Daily Life

 

What is your full name?

Erika Horská

Where do you live? What is your house like?

While studying at Masaryk University, I live in Brno in a flat with six roommates. Our flat has a common kitchen and bathroom. I am from the middle of a region called Bohemia in a small town named Hořovice. Hořovice is 15 kilometers (9 miles) west of Prague. Prague is the capital of my county, the Czech Republic. My family lives in a house with a garden, fields and horses. 

What is your family like?

I have one sister who is twenty-seven years old. My parents are not divorced and my mother is one year older than my father. My mom had me when she was thirty years old, which is unusual because  Czech people usually have children at a younger age.

How do you get around?

I use public transportation. I typically use the trams. I do not have a driver’s license and do not drive. In my home town, I can walk almost everywhere. The tram station is far away so sometimes I use the town bus to get to it.

What types of clothing do you like to wear?

I like to be comfortable but a little elegant. When I was a teen, I went through a period where I listened to metal music and dressed in dark-colored clothes. Now, I like wearing colors again!

What do you like to do in your free time?

I like to swim very much. When I am not feeling sick, I swim almost every day that I can! It’s better to swim when I do not have school in the morning. I also practice yoga, but I’m still a beginner. When I am not studying, I like to spend time with my boyfriend and friends and go out in the town. I also like to visit the theater.

What language(s) do you speak? How do you say “Hello” in your language?

In the Czech Republic, we speak Czech. I also speak English and German. I spent a year in Germany. I know Slovakian because it is similar to Czech, and I also know a little bit of Finnish and Lithuanian. In Czech, “Hello” is said “Dobrý den.”

Do you have pets?

At my parent’s home we have a dog and cat. When I was very young we had sheep, chickens and guinea pigs. I loved playing with the guinea pigs.

Have you traveled? Where have you traveled to?

I have only traveled within Europe and have been to twenty-five countries. Norway was the most beautiful of all the countries I’ve traveled to because of the landscapes. I also had a wonderful time at a conference in Finland because of the people I met.

What do you do for work?

I do not work right now. I am currently a student.

Is there anything else you would like to say to students in the United States?

Come to Europe!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s