Daily Life Field Note: Into The Life Of One Of My Teachers!

Abstract: I got to interview my Phonetics and Communication teacher.  You might think the life of a teacher is boring- but it is not! Just wait and see!

Introduction: Now I know you all might not think that this was my best choice, choosing my 51 year old teacher, but I promise you he’s super cool and he’s traveled so many places! Since he is my Phonetics and Spanish Communication teacher, we obviously spoke in Spanish so I’ll be translating all of this.

What is your full name?

My full name is Cesar Pozzobon, no middle name! Now the first day of class I asked you all about your last names and your heritages. (He really likes my last name. He thinks it’s very interesting and unique.) Well mine is Italian, my parents were from Italy and immigrated to Venezuela before I was born.

Where do you live? What is your house like?

I live in the part of Mérida, Venezuela on one of the two famous streets. You know how either there’s the two streets running arriba (up) or abajo (down) and the river divides them. Well VENUSA where I teach and where you live Anna, is Urdaneta. Well, I live on Las Americas the other street that runs parallel (you know what that word means?) to Urdaneta. I live in the urbanizacion (meaning neighborhood) El llanito. I live with my family, which I know is not normal to live with your parents after you get out of college, but here it’s very normal to live with your parents until they pass away. It’s great to spend so much time with your family and be so close to them, but as you know sometimes people know too much and you need your space!

What is your family like?

Well my family is from Italy so we speak Italian at home. I have a large family, but all except my siblings live in Italy. I have one sister name Olivia and she lives in Maracaibo and is a nurse. Besides that it’s just my parents and myself. So it isn’t a very traditional Venezuelan family. Usually your entire family including aunts, uncles, grandparents and so on live either in the same city or at least all in Venezuela. Such as your house Anna, your “mom”, “sisters”, and their kids all live in the same house as you!

How do you get around?

I don’t have a car because I don’t think I need one! There are so many ways of cheaper transportation than buying a car.  Cars are very expensive here in Venezuela but the gas is almost free, well in comparison to you in the States! So if there’s a family of three people who can drive, there are three cars, How crazy is that? So I usually take a buseta to work every day. But if I want to get to the Centro, (the main plaza in the middle of the city) I usually walk, which takes about 40 minutes to get there.

What types of clothing do you like to wear?

Simple and cheap clothing! I have about four pairs of jeans that I usually wear throughout the week, t-shirts and a pair of gym shoes. Simple clothing! But a lot of the t-shirts I wear are from the US, when I worked there for five years!

What do you like to do in your free time?

I love to go spend time with people and go hang out at the street vendors and eat a burger and watch soccer. I really like traveling and hiking as well as running. I don’t like to be busy, I like that Venezuela is very calm and relaxing.

What language(s) do you speak? How do you say “Hello” in your language?

I studied languages at La Universidad de los Andes here in Mérida, the most “prestigious” university in Venezuela, so I know a lot of the linguistics (how languages are formed and change) of many languages. But I speak fluent Spanish, English and Italian and I can speak some French and German.  And I say hello by saying “Hola mi pana!”

Do you have pets?

I do not have any pets, but I love dogs!

Have you traveled? Where have you traveled to?

I have traveled around South America to places like Colombia and Brazil. I’ve also traveled to the United States! When I was in college I studied in Salt Lake City, Utah for one year and then about seven years ago I worked in Buffalo, New York for five years. I was director at a private institute to teach Spanish speakers English in America. But my favorite trip was when I met an Argentinean man at my job and for an entire summer we traveled from Buffalo all the way down to Atlanta, Georgia selling from the trunk of our car Latino and Latin American music, clothing, food and hand-made art!

What do you do for work?

I work here at VENUSA as the Phonetics and Communication professor.

Is there anything else you would like to say to students in the United States?

I loved the United States, especially since you live in New York, I love New York! Come visit us here in Venezuela, come learn about our culture, our language, and our lives!

1anna

This is where he loves to go hiking, Aguas Termales (Hot Springs)

3anna

This is where he likes to hang out and eat (right where the umbrella is) after VENUSA on a Thursday night (I’ve seen him twice here, it was great!)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s