Anissa’s Daily Life Field Note: Being a Kid in Hong Kong

Title: Being a Kid in Hong Kong

Intro: Meet Licole Woo! She is a fourteen-year-old girl who lives in Hong Kong. She was born in Canada but her parents moved back to Hong Kong when she was one year old. In this interview, she tells us all there is about her life in Hong Kong. 

What is your house like? 

I live in a four bedroom condominium on the 37th floor in San Wan Ho.

What do you eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner? 

I eat lunch at school on Monday through Friday. I usually eat Shao Mai, which is a type of dim sum similar to a mini pork dumpling or a cheese and ham croissant.

What chores do you have at home? 

I don’t have to do chores at home because I have a domestic house helper who cooks and cleans for my family. She is like a nanny.

What jobs do your parents have?

My mother stays at home to take care of me and my father manages the Shangri-La Hotel chain in the Philippines.

What time does school start, and what time do you go home? 

School starts at 8:00 AM and ends at 2:00 PM.

How do you get to school? Are you allowed to go to school by yourself? 

My mother drives me to school and picks me up every day. I am not allowed to go to school by myself.

What do you eat for lunch, and where do you eat? What is your favorite food? 

For lunch I usually eat dim sum at school or ham and cheese sandwiches. My favorite food is generally any kind of fish.

What language do you speak at school? How do you say “Hello”? in your language? 

I speak Mandarin, English, and French at School. In Chinese hello is ni hao (knee how) and in French is Salut.

What are some common kids’ names at your school? 

Some common names are Henry, Chloe, Nicole, Ashley and Justin

What subjects do you study in school, and which one is your favorite? 

I study English, French, Mandarin, Humanities, Science, Math, Music, Physical Education, Drama and Visual Arts. My favorite subject is French.

What is your homework like? 

We use laptops in class frequently and answer questions on a digital textbook.

What do you like to do after school? Do you have a favorite sport or game? 

I usually go to tutoring after school. My favorite sport is Badminton and I play on the weekends.

Who is your favorite famous person? 

I like the band One Direction

What kinds of music do you listen to? 

I like to listen to One Direction, pop music, fast and slow music, oldies, relaxing and soothing music

What would you like to be when you grow up? 

I used to want to be a veterinarian, but I am not really sure anymore.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go? 

Somewhere in Europe or visit Niall from One Direction’s hometown Mullingar, Ireland

What do you know or think about the United States? 

Somewhere in Europe, or I’ll visit Niall’s hometown Mullingar, Ireland

What questions do you have for kids in the United States?

Are the kids in United States learning things that are very similar to what we’re learning in Hong Kong?

Licole and family

 

Licole and family

View down from condo

 

View down from the 37th floor

View from 37th floor

View from condo

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s